PERSONAL GROWTH | POETRY

Calculated Manipulation

Mika Oka
3 min readSep 4, 2023

how do I confront
the unsettling realization
that you might be exploiting
my vulnerabilities
for your own gain?
it’s a disheartening thought
that casts a shadow
over our interactions
stirring doubt and mistrust

Photo by Sivani Bandaru on Unsplash
I would really appreciate it if you could please stay on the page 
for at least 30 seconds to help me support my work as per Medium's new changes.

how do I navigate
this delicate balance
between wanting to believe
in the good intentions of others
and safeguarding myself
against potential harm?

how do I discern
between genuine care
and calculated manipulation
especially when the lines can be so blurred?
it’s a challenge to unravel
the motives behind your actions
to gauge whether they stem
from sincerity or ulterior motives

--

--

Mika Oka

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges. emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/