About Me

Mika Oka
6 min readMar 19, 2022

Updated : WHO AM I?

Trigger Warning: Mental Health

As an adult diagnosed with high-functioning autism and Bipolar II Disorder, the later-than-ideal arrival of the ASD diagnosis finally explained years of confusion.

While I’d managed through the first half of my life, these overlapping conditions left scars and lasting effects. To make things more complex, I’m also partially deaf and disabled, still searching for my place in the world.

The Need for Help

Managing any pre-existing condition can be challenging. For me, external factors like family issues, work stress, and other difficulties became overwhelming triggers. What I once managed myself escalated to the point where ignoring the need for help was impossible.

The increasing anxiety and stress were taking a toll. Seeking professional help felt like the right decision. While medication offered some relief, it came with a price. Feeling weak and with limited mobility, daily tasks became difficult.

Anxiety made work unbearable, and social interaction terrifying. Even car rides turned into panic-attack-inducing roller coaster rides, feeling like heart attacks and impending death. It was all terrifyingly real, making driving impossible.

--

--

Mika Oka

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges. emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/